

Prof Jan Plzák, MD., PhD
Head of Dpt. of ORL-HNS, 1st Faculty of Medicine, Charles University. Motol University Hospital, Prague,

jan.plzak@fnmotol.cz

President-Elect Prof Tomislav Baudoin, MD, PhD

Head - Referral Center of Pediatric ORL, Dpt. of ORL-HNS, Sisters of Charity University Medical Center, Zagreb, Croatia tomislav.baudoin@gmail.com

Prof Per Cayé-Thomasen, professor, consultant

Dpt. of ORL-HNS, Copenhagen University Hospital Rigshospitalet, Copenhagen, Denmark Per.Caye-Thomasen.o1@regionh.dk

Secretary General

Assoc. Prof Miroslav Tedla MD, MPH, PhD

Dpt. of ORL-HNS, Comenius University, University Hospital, Bratislava, Slovakia miro.tedla@gmail.com

Secretary General-Flect Dr Jeanette Hess-Erga

ORL Head and Neck Department. Haukeland University Hospital, Bergen, Norway jeanette.hess-erga@helse-bergen.no

Past Secretary General

Dr Elisabeth V Sjögren, MD PhDDpt. of Otolaryngology – HNS, Leiden University Medical Centre, Leiden, The Netherlands evsjogren@lumc.nl

Treasurer

Assoc. Prof Elisabetta Zanoletti MD, PhD

Dpt. Otorhinolaringology-HNS, Otoneurology and Skull base section. University Hospital of Padova, Italy elisabetta.zanoletti@unipd.it

Treasurer-Elect

Prof Patrick Sheahan

Dept of Otolaryngology, South Infirmary-Victoria University Hospital. Director of ENTO Research Unit, University College Cork, Cork Ireland sheahan.patrick@sivuh.ie

Congress President 2026

Prof Ann Hermansson MD, PhD

Dpt. of ENT, University Hospital of Lund Lund, Sweden ann.hermansson@med.lu.se

Congress President 2028 Prof. Dr. Stefan K. Plontke

Director. Department of Otorhinolaryngology, Head and Neck Surgery. Martin Luther University Halle-Wittenberg Halle (Saale), Germany stefan.plontke@uk-halle.de

Senior Counsellors:

Prof Piero Nicolai

Full professor Dpt. of Neurosciences -DNS - University of Padua. Director of the Unit of ORL-HNS, Padua University Hospital, Padua, Italy piero.nicolai@unipd.it

Prof Marc Remacle

Director Voice and Swallowing Center Dpt. of ORL-HNS, CHL-Eich. Luxembourg remacle.marc@chl.lu

UEMS ORL Representative Prof Heikki Irjala

President of UEMS-ORL Dpt. of ORL-HNS Turku University and Turku University Hospital Turku, Finland heikki.irjala@utu.fi

EBEORL-HNS Representative

Prof Cem Meço, MD, FEBORL-HNS

Dpt. of ORL-HNS, Ankara University Medical School, Ankara, Turkey Dpt. of ORL-HNS, Paracelsus Medical University, Salzburg, Austria Dept. of Otolaryngology HNS, Cornell University, Weill Cornell Medical College, New York, USA mecocemmd@gmail.com; c.meco@salk.at

Confederation of European

Otorhinolaryngology - Head & Neck Surgery

Vienna, January 20, 2025

Dear Member Societies of the Confederation,

We are delighted to announce that, as part of our Educational Program for 2025, the Confederation will offer 20 Observership Travel Grants for young ENT professionals aged 35 and under.

These grants, which provide invaluable opportunities for early-career ENT specialists to gain practical experience and broaden their expertise in the field, can be used to cover expenses for visiting a department in a European or non-European country.

Grant Details:

Regular Observership Travel Grants:

- **Amount: €1,000**
- **Eligibility:** Applicants must be members of a national or subspecialty society, or individual members of the Confederation, and below 35 years of age.

EBEORL Observership Travel Grants:

- **Amount: €1,300**
- Eligibility: Applicants must be members of a national or subspecialty society, or individual members of the Confederation, below 35 years of age, and have successfully passed the written part of the EBEORL Exam.

Application Requirements:

Applicants are required to submit the following documents:

- Curriculum Vitae (CV)
- Proof of membership in the relevant society
- Copy of ID or passport to confirm date of birth
- Statement of purpose for applying for the travel grant
- Optional: Proof of having passed the written part of the EBEORL Exam

Application Deadlines:

- Submission deadline: March 15, 2025
- Email Applications To: qloria.casanova@ceorlhns.orq
- Acceptance Notification: By April 15, 2025

Note: Awardees are required to submit a brief report detailing the activity funded by the travel grant.



President

Prof Jan Plzák, MD., PhD
Head of Dpt. of ORL-HNS, 1st Faculty of Medicine, Charles University. Motol University Hospital, Prague,

jan.plzak@fnmotol.cz

President-Elect Prof Tomislav Baudoin, MD, PhD

Head - Referral Center of Pediatric ORL. Dpt. of ORL-HNS, Sisters of Charity University Medical Center, Zagreb, Croatia tomislav.baudoin@gmail.com

Past-President

Prof Per Cayé-Thomasen, professor, consultant

Dpt. of ORL-HNS, Copenhagen University Hospital Rigshospitalet, Copenhagen, Denmark Per.Caye-Thomasen.o1@regionh.dk

Secretary General

Assoc. Prof Miroslav Tedla MD, MPH, PhD

Dpt. of ORL-HNS, Comenius University, University Hospital, Bratislava, Slovakia miro.tedla@gmail.com

Secretary General-Elect

Dr Jeanette Hess-Erga
ORL Head and Neck Department. Haukeland University Hospital, Bergen, Norway jeanette.hess-erga@helse-bergen.no

Past Secretary General

Dr Elisabeth V Sjögren, MD PhDDpt. of Otolaryngology – HNS, Leiden University Medical Centre, Leiden, The Netherlands evsjogren@lumc.nl

Treasurer

Assoc. Prof Elisabetta Zanoletti MD, PhD

Dpt. Otorhinolaringology-HNS, Otoneurology and Skull base section, University Hospital of Padova, Italy elisabetta.zanoletti@unipd.it

Treasurer-Elect

Prof Patrick Sheahan

Dept of Otolaryngology, South Infirmary-Victoria University Hospital. Director of ENTO Research Unit, University College Cork, Cork Ireland sheahan.patrick@sivuh.ie

Congress President 2026

Prof Ann Hermansson MD, PhD

Dpt. of ENT, University Hospital of Lund Lund, Sweden ann.hermansson@med.lu.se

Congress President 2028

Prof. Dr. Stefan K. Plontke
Director. Department of Otorhinolaryngology, Head and Neck Surgery. Martin Luther University Halle-Wittenberg Halle (Saale), Germany stefan.plontke@uk-halle.de

Senior Counsellors:

Prof Piero Nicolai

Full professor Dpt. of Neurosciences -DNS - University of Padua. Director of the Unit of ORL-HNS, Padua University Hospital, Padua, Italy piero.nicolai@unipd.it

Prof Marc Remacle

Director Voice and Swallowing Center Dpt. of ORL-HNS, CHL-Eich. Luxembourg remacle.marc@chl.lu

UEMS ORL Representative Prof Heikki Irjala

President of UEMS-ORL Dpt. of ORL-HNS Turku University and Turku University Hospital Turku, Finland heikki.irjala@utu.fi

EBEORL-HNS Representative

Prof Cem Meço, MD, FEBORL-HNS

Dpt. of ORL-HNS, Ankara University Medical School, Ankara, Turkey Dpt. of ORL-HNS, Paracelsus Medical University, Salzburg, Austria Dept. of Otolaryngology HNS, Cornell University, Weill Cornell Medical College, New York, USA mecocemmd@gmail.com; c.meco@salk.at

Confederation of European

Otorhinolaryngology - Head & Neck Surgery

We kindly request your support in sharing this announcement with the members of your society who meet the eligibility criteria. Your assistance will help us reach motivated young professionals eager to enhance their skills and contribute to the advancement of ENT practices.

Should you have any questions, please feel free to contact us.

Thank you for your collaboration.

Best regards,

Jan Plzák CEORL-HNS President

Miroslav Tedla CEORL-HNS Secretary General

Minolar Tedla